In My Own Words – Goetzke Chokes At Michigan Amateur Qualifier

NGAWire® | 4Feb04

The story of how Kurt Goetzke crushed his hopes of qualifying for the 1987 Michigan Amateur Championship during a qualifying round at Radrick Farms Golf Course in Ann Arbor (as recapped in an e-mail message).

RADRICK FARMS…that is the sight of my best and worst achievement (Nagy was a great Caddy…thanks for not making me hit driver on the last hole buddy!!!)…I was one hole away from qualifying comfortably for the Amateur…I would have been top 10, in fact and better than DEAN KOBANE (78)…Par for 77…I finished on Number 9…a short par 4…I feared out of bounds left, so I hit 3 Wood…unfortunately, I popped it up…hit 5 iron into the left front bunker…the bunkers were not as good as they are now…thinned it over the green…hit great flop to 12 feet or so…knocked putt by 3 feet…made that for double and 79…10 man playoff for 1 spot…Birdied the first hole to move on…hit huge drive on next hole…sand wedge to 20 feet below the hole…IN THE DRIVER’S SEAT!!! Three putted…other guys both got up and down…bye, bye Goetzke…Lost to other guy for 1st alternate spot…took like 3 more holes…1st and 2nd alternate did not get in…

