Goetzke Crowned 2007 TPC Champion

NGAWire® | 24Sep07

In one of the closest battles in TPC history, Kurt Goetzke defeated Karl Nagy in a three hole playoff to earn the 2007 TPC title, his second TPC victory.

The final round started with Nagy leading by 1 over Goetzke and 6 over Ron Clifton. Handicap differential placed all three players in a dead heat with each other.

After the front nine on Sunday, only Nagy and Goetzke remained in contention. Goetzke took a two shot lead into the back and increased it to six with help of a Nagy quadruple bogey on 11, but a Goetzke stretch of triple-double-double squared things up with two to play.

Both players made good pars on the difficult par 3 #17 to keep things level. After messing up their third shots on the par 5 #18, both players began to scramble, Nagy from a hazard and Goetzke from a bunker. Good recovery efforts by both and a holed 12 footer by Nagy left Goetzke 5 feet from the title, unfortunately the putt missed low. All was tied after regulation.

The players went back and played 18 as the first playoff hole. Less than spectacular drives and approach shots left both players short of the green in three. Goetzke smartly played his fourth onto the green, while Nagy patched his shot into a sand bunker. Nagy gamely got his ball up and in for a bogey six and Goetzke two putted, holing a slippery four footer, to extend the playoff.

On the par 5 #1, Goetzke flared his drive high and right into a hazard. After a penalty drop, Goetzke smashed his rescue club 20 yards from the green. Nagy hit his second onto the fringe, but failed to get up and down and settled for par. Goetzke pitched from just short of the green to 8 feet and rolled his putt home to tie the hole.

The battle finally ended on the par 4 #2. A weak tee ball and approach shot over the green left Nagy with an impossible up and down chance. Goetzke, soundly in the heart of the green after two good irons, was in control. Nagy proceeded to thin his third over the green into a bunker, and then splashed number four back across onto the fringe. A Nagy lag putt past the cup left Goetzke with three putts for the win.

Congratulations to Kurt Goetzke, the 2007 TPC Champion!

BTW – The 2007 TPC ROY honor goes to Jim Hartigan, who’s +43 effort also earned him a coveted top 10 finish.