Arturo Fuente Hemingway Short Story (Perfecto)

logo_trans

Arturo Fuente Hemingway Short Story (Perfecto)
Reviewed: Dan McKay
When: March 5, 2009, 3:30 PM
Where: Conway, SC, USA
Location: Wild Wing Plantation, Hummingbird Golf Course

Prior to a recent golf trip I wanted to choose a select assortment of cigars to enjoy. While browsing through the selection at my local cigar shop, the Hemingway Short Story stood out, and I quickly added a few to the mix.

Though I had heard good reviews about the Short Story, I had never picked any up. I was eager to give it a try.

The setting for this review was a cool breezy day in Myrtle Beach. The temp about 65 degrees, sunny, and some friends and I were playing golf at Wild Wing Plantation.
Side note: The staff at Wild Wing is top notch. They do not treat you like a commodity in the meat market of golf that is Myrtle Beach. They have bent over backwards the last couple of years to accommodate our group, not an easy task.
They run a great operation and the course is a very solid test of golf with some of the best greens on the strip. In addition to that they have a great 19th hole to enjoy after the round. If you’re down in Myrtle give this place a try.

Back to the review…

The Short Story cut crisp and clean. I used a torch to light it and as with other Hemingway’s, it lit very easily.

The first tastes where a little bitter and packed with spice and pepper. This quickly evolved to a classic Hemingway spice with a medium body and easy draw. In the open air, it was a perfect balance of spice, which was very enjoyable. So much so that helped me forget how badly I was playing.

Before I knew it, the cigar was gone and I wanted more.

The construction of this cigar is great and the Cameroon wrapper is all that you would expect from Fuente. It’s a perfect blend and worth every penny of the $6.50 price tag.

Rating: Four Stogies

