Oliva Serie V (Torpedo)

logo_trans

Oliva Serie V (Torpedo)
Reviewed: Dan McKay
Where: Jax Car Wash, Royal Oak, MI, USA
When: April 18, 2009, 9:00 AM
Misc.: Beautiful spring day, 75 degrees and sunny
Cost: $7.50+

The forecast for the day was supposed to be high in the 70’s with high sunny skies, a perfect time to get the winter grime out of one of our cars.

Jax Car wash is well known as one of the best car wash facilities in metro Detroit. They offer a ton of wash and detail packages. With that I figured it was a great fit for me to get a full service detailing and get the car spot clean.

I made an early day of it to get to the Royal Oak facility. When I arrived, I picked my cleaning packages a la carte and was off to the waiting room.

When I arrive in the waiting room I am the first one there and get my choice of uncomfortable chair surrounded by the smell of soap and shrill cries of car wash blowers. Unfortunately for me, my wait is about to get more aggravating.

As I sit in the lobby an older (mid 50’s) lady soon joins me. She appears to be a bit snooty. I assume this by her dress and mannerisms.

Anyway, she sits down next to me opens a bag of some kind of food and begins eating it… rather loudly I might add. Not only that, she is chomping it with her mouth fully open.

Now, I’ve looked over at her a couple of times and each time she gives me a dirty look.

This begs the question – Is it wrong to want to punch her in the face?

I debate the morality of this in my head for a few moments and then decide it is best that I step outside. Luckily for me I have a Oliva Serie V (Torpedo), a perfect time for a stogie review.

The Oliva Serie V is a beautiful cigar. The band is a little cheesy, but the construction of the cigar is impeccable. It cuts great and the pre-light taste fairly hearty.

I ignite the torch and begin my journey. The first thing I notice is a lot of bitterness. I’m really kind of taken aback by this. I was not expecting this deep flavor over-powering my palate. Fortunately for me this quickly disappears after a minute, and is replaced by wonderfully rich notes of coffee.

The smoke is hearty and full bodied, but smooth. These flavors continue to smooth out as I move down this stogie, but always remain rich.

The draw was a little tough in the beginning as well, but eased through as I moved down.

From what I’ve heard other say about the Serie V, I can concur that the flavor is great and very full. If it wasn’t for the rough start I would easily give this stogie a higher rating, but I can only comment on what I know.

If you love full flavored cigars, I would give it a try. I would partake again without hesitation.

Rating: Three and a Half Stogies

