Montecristo Petit Edmundo (Cuban)

logo_trans

Montecristo Petit Edmundo (Cuban)
Reviewed: Dan McKay
Where: Radrick Frams GC – Ann Arbor, MI, USA
When: July 3, 2009, 12:00 PM
Misc: 75 degrees, sunny
Cost: Gift (roughly $9 in Brazil)

The day began with dark cloudy skies, but the sun was shining in my golfing heart and mind. You see today was would be the first time I have played Radrick Farms golf club, owned and operated by the University of Michigan.

The hour long drive from my home seemed to fly by as I made my way to the course. By the time I had arrived, the clouds had disappeared and the sun was shining brightly.

The entrance to the course cuts through a forest of pristine trees and seemingly takes you to away from the everyday hustle of life.

From the first glimpse of the course, it’s easy to see that it is a great course.

I think I broke every record ever held for throwing on a pair of golf shoes, looping my bag and heading up to the house.

There I met up with my host and golf pal who was in town from Brazil for a few weeks.

We decided to hit the range and get ourselves prepared for this fun golfing venture.

We were also expecting Three Stogies Andy join us, and as designed he met us on the range.

I must admit, I wasn’t only excited to be playing Radrick. You see, my pal from Brazil, prior to his trip to town, had just picked up a box of Montecristo Petit Edmundo Cuban cigars. Of which, he promised to share the wealth… and I promised to enjoy.

Since I had never had a Cuban cigar, I was very much looking forward to my inaugural voyage.

We teed off right on time and marched our way through the first few holes. It didn’t take long for the course to let me know who the boss that day would be.

When we were settled in and arrived at the fifth tee, the Cubans were handed out. I think it took me a few moments to inspect the cigar and realize what I was holding.

The construction was perfect. The wrapper was impeccably smooth and the cap looked as if it was machine fabricated.

I noticed a touch of green in a couple of places, not something I’ve seen too many time before.

When I placed the cigar in my mouth to get a pre smoke taste, I was hooked immediately. There was definitely something special about this cigar.

I nervously cut the head and brought the torch to the foot.

The first taste was very smooth but packed with flavor. I was impressed by the complexity of the rich flavors presented with each draw.

The long finish provided was accompanied by hints of rum, which I really enjoyed.

The draw and smoke were wonderful. Since we were playing golf, I did have some minor issues with the burn, but no other cigar could do any better.

From start to finish this cigar was exactly what I expected and hoped for. It was consistently perfect.

Unfortunately my golf game did not follow suit. Though I did play much better on the back nine, I had some troubles on 14 and 15 that cost me a solid finish. Yet, the Montecristo made all of it enjoyable.

If you can get a hold of one, enjoy. It is truly a great cigar. In my mind it is perfect.

Rating: Five Stogies

