Krispy Kreme Coffee

logo_trans

Krispy Kreme Coffee
Reviewed: Dan McKay
Where: Troy, MI, USA
When: Jan 21, 2010, 7:45 AM
Misc: 30 degrees
Size: Large with cream and sugar
Cost: $1.90

The Three Stogies have dubbed January 18-22, 2010 Coffee Week. During these five days we will review coffee selections from some of America’s favorite coffee joints. Tune in to find out what we drink and think.

Krispy Kreme is our day four choice. I was kind of dreading it because I am trying to watch what I eat and lose some weight (alright, a lot of weight… a ton of weight).

The Krispy Kreme by my office is a factory of sugary goodness. I pass by it daily and see the donuts are made fresh and the sign says it all… they’re hot.

This would be tough for me.

I entered the store and was forced to walk along the donut assembly line. During this stroll I was able to see the glazing process. (Let me admit that I imagined lying on the rollers and getting glazed. That would be cool to do at least once.) Needless to say my stomach was craving the hundreds of donuts traveling by.

When finally reached the counter I noticed the menu board and looked for the coffee selection. When I found my choice I turned toward the counter.

“Here you go, sir”. The lady behind the counter stated as she reached out toward me with a glazed donut in hand (wax paper around it of course).

I thought… did she read my mind? Did I order this? Is it free? Oh, I could eat this, and so on.

“No thank you”, I stated. I’ll have a “Large coffee with cream and sugar”.

“That’ll be right up”, she replied.

In about 2 seconds flat, the other woman behind the counter poured, stirred, and capped my coffee and then it was in my hand.

I cannot tell you how much I love speed of service.

When I got into the car, I took my first sip.

The flavor was a bit sweet, but dull. Maybe I was expecting it to be a Dunkin replica. Unfortunately it was not, but I continued on and respected it on its own merit.

The deeper I moved into the cup, the sweetness intensified and the coffee goodness I sought after was becoming diluted by cream and sugar. I began to wonder if adding the cream and sugar wasn’t fair to the coffee. Nevertheless, the coffee should hold up in any fashion it was ordered.

The cup provided insulation and had a top very similar to Starbucks. It felt stable in my hand and allows for me to doodle on it while on a conference call. This was enjoyed.

Overall, I would say that I wouldn’t go out of my way to stop at a KK in the future for coffee. If I were getting a “HOT NOW” donut… I would order again.

Although not a cigar review, we will use the Three Stogie rating system for your reference.

Rating: Two and a Half Stogies

