MLK Day

NGAWire® | 21Jan13

As is tradition, MLK Day is golf day. Not only do we reflect on the “I Have a Dream” speech, but thoughts turn to Tiger Woods, Alfred ‘Big Rabbit’ Dyer, Alessandra Ambrosio and Paula Creamer.

Evan and I headed out to Carolina Springs GC for a 11:40am tee time (thanks golfnow.com).

Since Evan has outgrown his clubs, this would be his first round with standard sized clubs. His set included Callaway woods, Lynx irons and a Ping putter.

I was armed with my hickory clubs and new Wilson Staff 50 Elite balls.

My round started off solid with pars on the first three holes. A birdie on 4 from three feet (thanks to a brilliant mashie-niblick) was given back by a three putt on five. A solid par on 6, a 10 foot par save on 7 and a good sand save on 8 left me even par.

Nine is a par five that is reachable, but I normally don’t try with my regular clubs, however playing with hickory is a different story.

A nice driver and spoon left me 30 yards. If I could get up and down, I would have finally broken par with the hickories.

The ball was slightly below my feet, just off the edge of a bunker in slight rough.

As it is with these clubs, an occasional shank is just part of the day. My shot came off low and right, not exactly as pictured.

It climbed up to the edge of the green, took a little look see, them rolled back down the fairway 30 yards.

A much more difficult 4th shot from the fairway left 10 feet for par, which was missed. Bogey for 37 (+1).

The remainder of the day was equally enjoyable. Cigars, bourbon and diet Coke (thanks to playing partners Danny and Pete) and beautiful weather are hard to beat.

Thanks for the great day Reverend King.

20130129-064850.jpg

20130129-064909.jpg

